Kolhapuri Egg Curry

PicsArt_1447566754272I learned how to make this curry from Sanjeev Kapoor’s website. Of course, I modified it a bit to suit my tastes. After all, cooking is creative and one does not have to stick to the original.

So, here is how I made my Kolhapuri Egg Curry.

I used the following ingredients.

8 hard boiled and peeled eggs

10 – 15 cloves of garlic

A half-inch piece of ginger

2 medium sized onions

2 medium sized tomatoes

2 large spoons of scraped coconut (really big spoons)

5 – 6 black peppercorns

5 – 6 cloves

Half a teaspoon of turmeric powder

3 dried chilies (2 short and one long)

Oil

Salt

  • I first chopped the onions and the tomatoes, cleaned the piece of ginger and sliced it, and peeled the garlic cloves.
  • I then placed a deep-bottomed pan on fire (I used an ordinary steel pan that has been with me for years), heated some oil, and popped in the peppercorns and cloves.
  • When they released an aroma, I added the chopped onions, ginger, and garlic.
  • I then added the chilies, turmeric powder, and coconut.
  • When the mixture began smelling really good, I added the chopped tomatoes.I kept adding drops of oil every now and then and stirred the contents of the pan till it looked like this.

PicsArt_1447599971846

  • I then allowed it to cool and then ground it into a fine paste.
  • I added a few more drops of oil to the pan and fried the boiled eggs till they turned slightly brown.
  • Next, I took a medium-sized vessel, placed it on the fire, and added the ground masala to it.
  • I put some water into the mixie jar, shook the jar a bit, and added that water to the vessel too. I added some more water till I acquired the desired consistently. I wanted the gravy to the neither too thick nor too thin.
  • I brought the gravy to a boil and added the eggs to it.
  • I added salt to taste and let it simmer for some time before lifting the vessel off the flame.

PicsArt_1447600031128

The result: eight delicious eggs floating in creamy, mildly spiced gravy.

Kolhapur is a picturesque city in Maharashtra. It is famous for its old temples, interesting forts, Kohlapuri slippers, jewelry, and mutton dishes.

5 thoughts on “Kolhapuri Egg Curry

  1. Its easy .
    Like norma curry, just add earlier half cooked mutton and more extra spices and much more extra red chilli powder.

    On other hand white mutton curry is also same its made up of water used to boil and cook the mutton and its whiteness comes from use of coconut milk and coconut paste.

    You will find its recipe and pics on web but i assure you its damn hot and spicy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

