Chicken Pepper Garlic

Someone posted a photo of Chicken Pepper Garlic on a WhatsApp group I belong to and vanished without revealing the recipe. Of course, she re-appeared with the recipe many days later, but by that time, I had already created my own version of Chicken Pepper Garlic.

Chicken Garlic Pepper is a Thai dish. In fact, it is a very commonly prepared dish in Thailand. You can make it with any meat of your choice, squid, shrimps, or even vegetables. And it is incredibly easy to make. Click here if you want to prepare the original Thai Pepper Garlic Chicken.

The recipe posted here is the result of my experiments in the kitchen. I took the bold step of posting it here because the family, especially my six-year-old, actually liked it. In other words, the dish did not turn out to be a disaster.

Ingredients

1kg chicken

1 large onion

1 large green chilly

10 – 15 flakes of garlic

Small bunch of coriander leavers

1 lime

Half a teaspoon of turmeric powder

Salt to taste

Oil

Vinegar

Chili powder

Pepper powder

Soya sauce

Tomato sauce

 I have not mentioned the quantity for the last six ingredients because you can use as much or as little of it as possible, according to your taste.

How I made my own version of Chicken Pepper Garlic

20151201_093721.jpg

Marinated Chicken

  • I marinated the chicken with the juice of one lime, some pepper powder, some chili powder, and salt for about an hour.
  • I chopped the onion, the small bunch of coriander leaves, and the large green chilly.
  • I crushed the garlic with a medium-sized ladle.
  • I poured around 2 – 3 tablespoons of oil in a vessel and heated it for some time before popping the onion, garlic, and green chilly into it.
  • I fried it for some time and then added the marinated chicken.
  • I then put in a tablespoon each of pepper powder and red chili powder and let the chicken cook.
  • As the chicken was cooking, I added salt to taste.
  • When the chicken was tender, I sprinkled some vinegar into the dish.
  • Now it was time to add the soya sauce and the tomato sauce—around 2 – 3 tablespoons each.
  • I stirred the contents, checked the taste, and added more pepper powder, salt, soya sauce, and tomato sauce till I got the desired taste.
  • Finally, I added the chopped coriander leaves, gave it a final stir, and took the vessel off the flame.

This is what I got—delicious Chicken Pepper Garlic

20151201_114318.jpg

Chicken Pepper Garlic

My Comments

Since I am not a chef, I do not post recipes that can be followed to the letter on my blog. My intention is to give you an idea so that you can experiment on your own. I have so far never followed anybody’s recipe to the letter. I think cooking is fun only when you experiment with various spices, sauces, and herbs.

Feel free to add as much or as little chili powder, pepper powder, vinegar, soya sauce, and tomato sauce as you like. Since I like my chicken dishes spicy, I generously added pepper powder and chili powder.

I used the dark variety of soya sauce.

As for the chicken, I used the usual “skin-out and cut in small pieces” chicken that I always buy from Coastal Chicken in Mangalore.

As you cook the chicken, it may release a lot of water, depending on the quality of the meat. You can remove it if you like and use it to make soup. Since I slow cooked my chicken, the water evaporated and I ultimately got chicken floating in thick, aromatic, and spicy gravy.

If you are particular about food presentation, you can decorate your Chicken Pepper Garlic with carrot, capsicum, tomato, cucumber, and other crunchy vegetables.

I never pressure cook chicken. It tastes best when it is slow cooked (my opinion).

Leave a Reply

