“Scribbles” is One Month Old

“Scribbles” is now one month old. It is difficult to believe, but true. And I am happy about it. I have learned a few interesting lessons that I would like to share with anybody who cares to read this post.

I like WordPress

I really struggled for the first 15 days. The toughest part of blogging was finding the proper theme. I tried theme after theme after theme till I found the present one—The Adelle Theme. It is simple, clutter free, easy to customize, and suits me fine.

 

The Adelle Theme

Screenshot of The Adelle Theme

I also had to find answers to the following questions:

  • What do I want to write about?
  • Why do I want to write?
  • What do I want my blog to look like?
  • Am I writing for traffic or am I writing for me?

Interestingly, I found answers to all these questions after a month of blogging. I have a fairly good idea of what I would like to blog about. I know exactly why I am blogging. I also know what I want my blog to look like. I also have a set of goals for my blog, an idea of what direction I would like my blog to take, and an idea of what I would like to achieve as a blogger.

I also love getting badges from WordPress.com. It is so encouraging and heartwarming. These badges have now vanished into the pile of notifications, but I managed to click a picture of one of them.

WordPress Badge

I actually have time to blog.

I put off blogging for years because I had no time. When I started this blog, I had no time. I was just desperate to have a blog of my own. I decided that I would at least post a picture a day if I had no time for anything else.

As I blogged, I discovered that I actually have all the time I need. In fact, there is ample time for all the things we want to do. We just have to do it. I am happy that I have created 20 posts on Scribbles, and this is my 21st post.

I am learning.

While struggling with customization, menus, themes, and so on, I learned a couple of interesting things. I learned how to export content from one blog and import it into another.

I had actually created two blogs—one for photos and one for articles. I decided that I cannot possibly focus on two blogs at this point of time and wanted to import the content from my photo blog into Scribbles. That’s how I learned about the Export and Import functions under the Tools section of the Dashboard. It was difficult at first, but once I got the hang of it, it was incredibly easy.

I also spent most of the month hunting for the Dashboard. I simply couldn’t access it as soon as I logged into my WordPress.com account. I then learned that all I had to do was type wp-admin after my blog address to access the dashboard. For example, http://www.yourblog.wordpress.com/wp-admin will take you instantly to your dashboard.

Learning simple things such as these make a blogger’s life easier. One of the best ways to learn something new is to sign up for free blogging courses at WordPress.com. I am currently part of three such courses.

  • Blogging 101, Commenting Bootcamp: The Commons
  • Blogging 201, Branding & Growth: The Commons
  • Writing 101, Poetry: The Commons

I cannot claim to be the ardent student, but I am definitely learning.

Spreading love on WordPress.com is actually fun.

I now have 15 beautiful followers, and I think they are all just great. They are my very first followers. Their likes and comments have been a great source of inspiration to me. These lovely people have motivated me to stick to my blog.

And I love to return the favor. Every day, I spend some time visiting other blogs and leaving my likes and comments there. It makes me feel good, and it does my blog a great deal of good.

My blog stats look good.

Of course, they are not the best. But for a person who has been never been successful with blogs in the past, it is something. Right now, I have 212 all-time views, 68 all-time comments, 15 followers, 20 posts, 11 categories, and 79 tags. Two days back, WordPress.com gave me a badge for getting 50 likes.

As I previously said, this isn’t great and perhaps I could have done better. Other bloggers might have achieved much more that I have in one month. But this is a good beginning, and I am happy about it.

It’s a long and exciting journey.

I have just begun. I have barely scratched the surface. I understand that I am never going to actually finish with the blog. I will be forever searching for the best themes, taking more courses, learning new things, editing and re-editing my posts, and creating fresh content.

And that is the fun of blogging.

18 thoughts on ““Scribbles” is One Month Old

  1. Hi Sonia. Congratulations on one month! Your celebratory post is a great tool for someone like me who is a little bit earlier in the process of getting into blogging. I’m impressed by the structure and boldness of your blog, especially as it is only a month old. Did you dabble in blogging before? If so, what has made a difference this time around?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks a lot for your comment. As I have mentioned in one of my posts, I have “flirted” a lot with blogging in the past. But I was the sort of person who would make a post or two and then vanish from the scene and even forget the blog address! This time, there is a difference. I am just determined to make it work. 🙂 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey there! We started blogging around the same time and it was interesting to read your perspective on the newness of it all. You seem to have a knack for translating your thoughts into interesting reading so stay with it. Good luck! Your new subscriber, Frank

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats Sonia, this was a great way to celebrate a month here at WP. I like the clarity with which you approached this post. I enjoyed reading it. Happy blogging and may the likes , followers and most of all your passion keep increasing .

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like your one-month roundup – you still sound so excited and enthusiastic. I noticed my stats went up considerably taking part in the wordpress courses and I hope part of the new-made followers/friends will keep hanging around… It made me realize I too have to put time and effort in keeping the connection strong. Online connections are not different from real life connections for that matter…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Blogs take a long time to get traction sometimes. I’ve been working on mine for a year and only now am I getting the kind of traction I wanted. Those badges act as motivation for me – they keep me going as well. 🙂 Your content is great and relatable so I’m sure you’ll see even more success in the near future!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

