My Version of Batata Poha

Batata (potato) Poha (beaten rice) is not a traditional Mangalorean dish. My father, who had been in Mumbai for several years, introduced it to us. It is one of my favorites, and I just love having it for breakfast. Although many Mangaloreans have never heard of it, it is quite popular in Maharashtra and Gujarat.

Unfortunately, my son does not like it. So I usually make some Neeru Dosas or sweet wheat crepes for him whenever I make Batata Poha for breakfast.

20160125_205605.jpg

You need the following ingredients to make Batata Poha.

  • 3 medium sized potatoes
  • 1 medium sized onion
  • 2 medium sized tomatoes
  • 10 – 15 curry leaves
  • 4 – 5 red chillies (the short variety)
  • A teaspoon of mustard seeds
  • A tablespoon of coconut oil
  • Salt to taste
  • A cup of grated coconut
  • 5 – 6 handfuls of beaten rice (poha)

 

Here is how I make Batata Poha.

  1. I boil the potatoes, peel them, and mash them slightly. Be careful not to make a paste out of them. We just want some large pieces.
  2. I finely chop the onion and the tomatoes.
  3. I remove the seeds from the red chillies and wash my hands immediately. Always wash your hands after handling chillies.
  4. I grate the coconut and keep it ready. We need it for garnishing.
  5. I take a tablespoon or two of coconut oil in a large vessel and place it on the stove. When it is hot enough, I put a teaspoon of mustard seeds in it. When they stop crackling, I add the red chillies and curry leaves. The onion goes in next. When the onion is slightly brown, I put in the tomatoes. I stir the mixture till the tomatoes are nicely cooked and mashed.
  6. I then lower the flame, put in the beaten rice, sprinkle some water into it, and stir the mixture really fast. I don’t want it sticking to the bottom. If I feel that the mixture is too dry, I sprinkle some more water into it. Never pour water into the poha. You don’t want an ugly-looking paste. Just sprinkle as much water as you feel is necessary.
  7. It is now time for the potatoes and the grated coconut to go into the mixture.
  8. I add some salt to taste, stir it once or twice, and lower the vessel from the flame.

 

20160123_112459.jpg

Batata Poha is ready!! It is the yummiest breakfast in the whole world, and I won’t listen to people who don’t like it.

Some Tips

  • Use the thin and flaky variety of beaten rice, not the thicker variety that requires soaking before use.
  • Take as much beaten rice as you can in each handful. You need around 300gms for this recipe.
  • You can garnish with coriander leaves if you like.
  • You can use sprouted green gram instead of potatoes.
  • When I cook, I hardly measure the ingredients. Do keep this in mind when you try out this recipe. You can increase or decrease the quantity of ingredients according to your taste.
  • Feel free to add more chillies if you like it hot and spicy. You can also use chillie powder or green chillies.
4 thoughts on “My Version of Batata Poha

Leave a Reply

