How to Make Akki Rotis

When I made Akki Rotis for the first time, I was really nervous. It is not really that difficult to make Akki Rotis, but I somehow felt that the recipe was a bit too elaborate. Needless to say, I messed up the dough, gave the family a sheepish grin, and informed them that the breakfast was ruined. A few hours later, however, the rice flour had absorbed the excess water and I was able to make balls out of it. I somehow managed to make the Akki Rotis and they tasted fine too.

20151213_092504-1

Akki Rotis – My First Attempt

I made Akki Rotis again today because I needed some photos for this post, the last of the Bloggers Marathon Challenge posts. I guess I am now an experienced Akki Roti maker as I didn’t suffer today as much as I suffered a few months back when I made these rotis for the first time.

So now for a little bit about Akki Rotis…

Akki Roti literally means “Rice Flat Bread.” You have to knead the rice flour in hot water, spread the batter on the pan, and roast it on both sides. You can make it for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. It is not exactly a traditional dish of Kudla, but definitely a traditional dish of Karnataka.

Ingredients

1 cup rice flour

1 medium onion finely chopped

2 green chillies finely chopped

1/4 cup grated coconut

1 grated carrot

1 small bunch coriander leaves finely chopped

Salt to taste

Coconut oil

How I Made Akki Rotis

  1. I first heated some water.
  2. I put rice flour, chopped onion, green chillies, grated coconut, grated carrot, coriander leaves, and salt in a vessel.

IMG_0233

3. I kneaded the mixture with hot water.

IMG_0236

4. I smeared a bit of coconut oil on my palms and the banana leaf and placed a small ball of the dough on it.

IMG_0237

5. I used my fingers and palm to spread the dough of the banana leaf as thinly as possible.

IMG_0238

6. I then put the roti on a heated pan (non-stick pan) with the roti side down and the banana leaf side up.

IMG_0239

7. I then gently removed the banana leaf and started spreading another roti on it.

8. Meanwhile, I cooked the roti on the pan with a few drops of coconut oil till it was nice and brown and rosy on both sides.

IMG_0243

Notes

  • You may forget the carrot if you don’t like it. People add all sorts of things to their Akki Rotis though and you can experiment with other vegetables.
  • If you are one of those people who feel that oil is the root of all evil, avoid the oil.
  • If you don’t have a banana leaf, you can use an aluminium foil or a plastic sheet.
  • When you knead the flour, make sure that the water is as hot as your fingers can handle.
  • Your dough should be very soft.
  • Akki Rotis are a bit hard, but delicious. If you want something as soft as butter, make Set Dosas. I promise to post a recipe soon.
  • If you are wondering why I made holes in my Akki Rotis, it is because some people say they cook easily if they have holes in them. So remember to poke a few holes in your Akki Rotis.

Eat your Akki Rotis with tomato sauce or ketchup or coconut chutney or anything else you like. Don’t forget to make some hot coffee too.

Enjoy! 🙂

IMG_0244

15 thoughts on “How to Make Akki Rotis

  1. Pingback: A New Challenge |

  2. Lovely Sonia mam! You can add some cooked rice (nicely mash it with the rice flour or blend it with a help of a blender) that softens the akki rotti texture and add some cumin to the mixture which also enhances the taste😊

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Pingback: The Bloggers Marathon Challenge |

Leave a Reply

