A New Challenge

The Bloggers Marathon Challenge is over. To say that I am happy to have successfully completed it would be an understatement. I am more than happy, and all for the following reasons.

Reason #1 – Daily Posts

Ever since I started this blog, I have wanted to post every day. The Bloggers Marathon Challenge has literally forced me to do it. I must admit that it was tough, but it proved that I could do it.

Reason #2 – Spike in Stats

Now this is something that really made me happy—a spike in stats.

Spike in stats

I think one particular post, “How to Make Akki Rotti,” is responsible for this. I promote all my posts on Facebook, but this post appears to have attracted more readers than any other post.

Reason #3 – Another Challenge

The experience of posting every day has inspired me to continue doing it, come what may.

I have always wanted to write an eBook, but never wrote one. I have heard that many people convert their blog posts into eBooks. I wonder why I shouldn’t be one of them.

I have, therefore, decided to challenge myself. These days, I am struggling with reading. Of course, I am a voracious reader and have no problems with reading. I can even speed read. But helping the little scribble to improve his reading is something totally different. The little scribble has absolutely no patience with books, although he loves it when I read to him. I want him to read to me instead. I have a feeling that making a post on reading every day, except on Saturdays and Sundays, will be of great help not just to me, but also to other people who are struggling with reading.

I have decided to make 22 posts on reading in June, at the rate of one post per day, except on Saturdays and Sundays. I hope I succeed, but don’t be surprised if I chuck the entire project and flee. I have a feeling that it will be easier said than done.

Simultaneously, I will be posting the Saraswati stories, a few creative pieces, a few myth busters, a few photos, or any of the usual things I post on Scribbles.

Reason #4: A New Website on Kudla

I have finally created a self-hosted website. I never thought that I would do it. But then, I never thought I would start Scribbles, create a Facebook page for Scribbles, and complete the Bloggers Marathon Challenge either.

My new website will be on Mangalore. You might wonder why I want to create a website on Mangalore as a lot of people have already done it. Well, I want to create a website on Mangalore because it intrigues me. I cannot imagine how I lived in Mangalore for so many years without knowing anything about it.

I remember going to school every day, carrying a huge bag on my back, but I just don’t remember learning about local plants and animals, rivers, geography, climate, people, culture, cuisine, and so on and so forth. I know I wasn’t one of the best students in my school, but I ought to have remembered at least one thing about my hometown had one of the teachers spoken about it.

I get this feeling that we take our hometown for granted. We ought to know our hometown like the back of our hands. So my new website is going to be about “living in Mangalore.”

I will export all the Mangalore articles I have posted on Scribbles so far to my new site and start promoting it by the end of this week.

1

Photo taken from Infant Jesus Shrine in Mangalore. The words are from a speech the little scribble gave in school. 

18 thoughts on “A New Challenge

Leave a Reply

